Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers Databases & Indexes
Use a newspaper database or index to locate newspaper articles on a specific subject:
A business news information service provides access to nearly 6,500 newspapers, magazines, wire services, and academic and trade journals. It also includes profiles of public companies covering financial data.
North China Herald Online 北華捷報
Coverage: 1850 - 1940
The English North China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. It was published in Shanghai, at a time when Shanghai was at the heart of China's dealings with the Euro-American world and was a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture, education and the economy. It is the first point of reference for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities.
Regional Business News
Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
South China Morning Post
Coverage: 2002 - Current
Electronic version of the print newspaper.
Access via VPN required.
The Times: Digital Archive 1785-2010
This historical newspaper database archives Times of London from 1785 to 2010. It is an important primary source to study British society and its colonies in North America and Asia from the eighteenth to twentieth century.
Coverage: 1998 (varies) - present
Provides access to newspapers, magazines, journals and newswires published in China, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan. Includes all local newspapers.
The Library subscribes to different resources that provides news in both electronic and printed formats:
- Printed Resources
- The Hong Kong Public Libraries has the Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collections in their Multimedia Information System (MMIS)