LibGuides: Translational Medicine: Mobile Apps

Databases

Web of Science MyR‪A

Allows you to search, save results and create a curated feed of your research topics in the Web of Science. Log in with your account created at Web of science.

EBSCOHost Mobile

Allows you to search multiple EBSCOhost databases in one go. Find 'CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG' for the institution and log in with your account created at any EBSCOhost library databases.

PubMed4Hh

Android App

Access PubMed health information of the National Library of Medicine with PICO clinical query.

Prime: PubMed Journals & Tools

Provides quick search to the PubMed literature and link to the publisher’s full text articles.

E-Journals

BrowZine

Find, read, and monitor scholarly journals in a single App. When open the app for the first time, select the Chinese University of Hong Kong from the Library list.

E-Books

UCentral

uCentral provides Medline search, medical calculators and library subscribed reference tools including:

Bates’ Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual
Harrison’s Manual of Medicine
Mont Reid Surgical Handbook
Nurses' Handbook of Health Assessment
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales
Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Taylor's Handbook of Clinical Nursing Skills

uCentral App Installation Guide

AccessMedicine

Search across a number of medical resources such as videos, podcasts, images, infographics, and textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine or Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine.

MedOne

This reader allows you to download and read Thieme E-books. Sign up an account at MedOne Education and then log in the app.

IGP Reader

This reader allows you to download iG Library E-books for offline reading. Register for a personal account at iG Library. Open an iG Library E-book with your browser, click on 'Read on App' and follow the instruction to download the E-book.

Point-of-Care Tools

UpToDate

A clinical decision support resource with evidence-based clinical information including drug topics.

An individual account is needed to use the UpToDate mobile app. Registration must be done on campus.
Register your UpToDate account with any PC in the Library or with your device(s) connecting to the CUHK Wi-Fi network (CUHK1x).
Re-validate your UpToDate mobile access every 90 days. To re-validate, login your UpToDate account with any PC in the Library or with your device(s) connecting to the CUHK Wi-Fi network (CUHK1x).
Re-open the UpToDate app.

UpToDate App Installation Guide

Best Practice

A trusted, authoritative clinical decision support tool that provides quick, easy-to-use answers to clinical questions.

ClinicalKey

Provides evidence-based information for clinical decisions of more than 30 medical and surgical specialties. Go to ClinicalKey or ClinicalKey for Nursing to register for an account first. Install the app and sign in with the account created.

Steps to download the mobile app:

1.   When installation finishes, launch the app.
2.   Under “Choose Edition”, select “Global”.
3.  Under “Choose Role”, select either “ClinicalKey”or “ClinicalKey for Nursing”
4.   Input your registered username and password

DynaMed

Provides evidence-based clinical summaries intended for use primarily at the point-of-care. Go to DynaMed and register for an account first. Install the app and sign in with the account created.

Dynamic Health

This app helps nurses and allied health professionals to master skills of evidence-based practice for improved patient outcomes. Go to Dynamic Health and register for an account first. Install the app and sign in with the account created.

Medscape

Provides robust and integrated information on diseases, medications, news and educational tools.

Skyscape

Provides a package of medical resources, including drug information, medical calculators and clinical information. Create account when first log in.

VisualDx

Decision support and reference tool includes medical images to aid diagnosis and therapeutic decisions. Go to VisualDx and register for an account first. Install the app and sign in with the account created.

Drug Information

Uptodate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp)

Provides point-of-care drug and clinical information. An individual account is needed to use the Lexidrug mobile app. Please register your account with your valid CUHK email.

Steps to download the mobile app for first time users:

1. Click Lexidrug and select “Mobile Access Codes” icon.
2. Select your platform (iPhone/iPad or Android) and indicate the type of customer i.e. choose New (App is not installed) for first time app users..
3. Follow the instructions provided by Lexidrug to create an account, add the authorization code to the subscription, and install the mobile app.

The Lexidrug mobile app account will expire on 31 May 2025. Follow the steps below to renew the account by then.

1. Click Lexidrug and select “Mobile Access Codes” icon.
2. Select your platform (iPhone/iPad or Android) and choose Existing (already have the app).
3. Follow the instructions provided by Lexidrug to add the authorization code to renew the account.

Drugs.com Medication Guide

Provides comprehensive drug information, pill identifier and interaction checker.

Clinical Pharmacology by Clinicalkey

Provides drug reference solution on indications, interactions and adverse effects. Go to ClinicalKey or Clinical Pharmacology by ClinicalKey to register for an account first. Install the app and sign in with the account created.

Steps to download the mobile app:

1.  When installation finishes, launch the app.
2.  Under “Choose Edition”, select “Global”.
3.  Under “Choose Role”, select "Clinical Pharmacology".
4.  Input your registered username and password

The Medical Letter

Provides critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drug classes. Go to Medical Letter and click on Mobile Apps to register first.

Micromedex

Provides Drug Reference summary, IV Compatibility, and Drug Interactions information along with a set of clinical calculators and access to the Micromedex Assistant.

Make sure your device(s) is connected to the CUHK Wi-Fi network (CUHK1x) when you install the app.

1. Download the “Micromedex” app.
2. Launch the app and you will see an activation code and an activation link
3. Enter the provided activation code and tap “Activate Device” to begin using the app

If your device(s) is not connected to the CUHK Wi-Fi network (CUHK1x) when you install the app.

1. Using the pc at the library, go to www.micromedexsolutions.com/activate in your desktop browser.
2. At the box “Activate Now”, enter the activation code provided on the Micromedex app and select “Activate Device”. You should be able to use the mobile app.

IBM Micromedex NeoFax Ref

Provides evidence-based drug information to safely manage drug therapy for neonatal patients. Go to Micromedex, click on the “Mobile Application Access” button (top right of the page) and then select "Micromedex Native Mobile Apps”, follow the installation instructions to get the password for the mobile app.

Note: Password has to be updated on an annual basis. To get the new password, go back to the Micromedex site to obtain the new password.

IBM Micromedex Pediatrics Ref

Provides evidence-based drug information to safely manage drug therapy for pediatric patients. Go to Micromedex, click on the “Mobile Application Access” button (top right of the page) and then select "Micromedex Native Mobile Apps”, follow the installation instructions to get the password for the mobile app.

Note: Password has to be updated on an annual basis. To get the new password, go back to the Micromedex site to obtain the new password.

Drugs - Hong Kong

MIMS Hong Kong

Provides update information of drugs in Hong Kong. Register for an account at MIMS first.

Anti-HIV Med

Provides basic information about each registered antiretroviral compound for treating HIV infection in Hong Kong..

IMPACT

A reference tool developed by the Centre for Health Protection for medical and health professionals in reinforcing the appropriate use of antimicrobial drugs.