Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerontology: Useful Websites

Useful Websites

The CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing 香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所

A multi-disciplinary research institute established in 2014 with the vision to make Hong Kong an age-friendly city in the world.

CADENZA「流金頌」計劃    

CADENZA - A Jockey Club initiative project for seniors run between 2006-2013. The project was aimed at nurturing academic leadership in gerontology and changing the mindset and attitude of the general public through a range of training and public education programmes.

Census and Statistics Department 政府統計處

Census and Statistics Department provides major social and economic official statistics of Hong Kong.

Elderly Commission 安老事務委員會

The Elderly Commission's main task is to provide advice to the Government of the HKSAR in the formulation of a comprehensive policy in caring for elders. 

Elderly Health Service, Department of Health 衞生署長者健康服務 

The Department of Health set up the Elderly Health Service to enhance primary health care for the elderly, improve their self-care ability, encourage healthy living and strengthen family support so as to minimize illness and disability.

Hong Kong Association of Gerontology 香港老年學會

The Association was established with the aim of promoting the discipline of gerontology and improving the quality of age care services in Hong Kong. 

The Hong Kong College of Gerontology Nursing 香港老年學護理專科學院

The College has provided educational courses, seminars and workshops that are specific to the care of older people. 

Jockey Club End-of-Life Community Care Project 「賽馬會安寧頌」計劃

The Project aimed at improving the quality of end-of-life care, enhancing the capacity of service providers, as well as raising public awareness.

Social Welfare Department, Services for the Elderly 社會福利署 安老服務

The range of services to the elderly offered by the Social Welfare Department. 

璀璨 D30

「璀璨 D30」建立目的是為55-64歲人士順利地邁向人生第三齡,達至黃金歲月。網站由『健康護理及促進基金』贊助,並由香港中文大學那打素護理學院和香港基督教女青年會協辦的健康推廣計劃。

地球村長

香港電台廣播節目。老齡化是全球逼切面對的問題,「地球村長」節目以香港為軸心,聯繫世界各地專家學者,每周就長者議題作出分析比較,拓闊國際視野,全面改善長者政策、關懷生活及心靈需要。

銀齡帥靚正 Smart Elderly 

香港電台電視系列 (2015)。 以紀錄片、個案專訪、與長者互動遊戲的形式,讓大眾認識長者在人口老化的社會中面對的不同議題,當中包括理財、院舍從業員的情況、照顧患有腦退化的長者、長者用品及家居設計、獨居生活、退休後的生活及工作、長者與家人的關係及老伴等。

樂齡帥靚正 Elderly Smart 

香港電台電視系列 (2018)。 以紀錄片形式介紹世界各地值得參考的長者政策和民間策略,介紹國家計有:香港、台灣、日本、英國、荷蘭、丹麥、西班牙、瑞典。

黃金歲月

香港電台電視系列 (2019)。 介紹長者在『動』與『靜』之間的選擇,第一部份以「動」為題,介紹及示範適合長者的運動,另一部份以「靜」為題,介紹不同文娛及興趣活動。

無耆不有   Revel in Retirement

香港電視廣播有限公司專題節目 (2018+)。 介紹香港長者的生活及引伸的各種問題。(節目內容介紹

 

Databases          E-Journals           E-Books        Writings            Multimedia           Guidelines        Professional Organizations          Others

Databases

PubMed

PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. It also includes links to full text articles and other related resources. 

Trip Database

The Trip search system has a collection of high quality of secondary evidence ranging from systematic reviews and clinical guidelines to evidence-based synopses and clinical Q&As.

 

E-Journals

BioMed Central Journals

Publisher of 199 peer-reviewed open access journals. 

 

E-Books

Merck Manuals

It is a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. 

NCBI Bookshelf

NCBI Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. 

National Academies Press

The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.

 

Writings For Health Care Professionals

Citation Style Manuals for Health Sciences

A collection of health sciences related citation styles manuals by University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries. 

Instruction to Authors from Health Science Journals

Direct links to thousands of publishers of the health science journals on the instruction to Authors (by the University of Toledo, Mulford Health Science Library). 

Copyright Information in Hong Kong

Links to websites on copyright information from Hong Kong relevant government departments, organizations and CUHK.

 

Multimedia

On-Line Images from the History of Medicine

This system provides access to nearly 60,000 images (reproducing photographs, artwork, and printed texts) drawn from the extensive collection of the History of Medicine Division at the US National Library of Medicine. 

Radiographic Anatomy of the Skeleton

Images of different part of human body. 

 

Guidelines

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is a free Web site that provides consumer health information for patients, families, and health care providers 

 

Professional Organizations

ANA Nursing World

The American Nurses Association (ANA) advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing. 

 

Others

Medscape 

Medscape is the leading medical resource most used by physicians, medical students, nurses and other healthcare professionals for clinical information.

SUMSearch

SUMSearch uses meta-searching and contingency searching to automate searches for medical evidence 

This page is compiled by the CUHK Library which collects the e-version of journals and newsletters published by the medical related professional organizations of Hong Kong.

Medicine

Anaesthesiology

Cardiology

Chinese Medicine

Dentistry

Dermatology

Emergency Medicine

Gastroenterology

Gerontology and Geriatrics

Gynaecology, Obstetrics and Midwifery

Immunology

Infectious Diseases

Nephrology

Nursing

Orthopaedics, Physiotherapy, Sport Sciences

Ophthalmology

Paediatrics

Palliative Medicine

Pathology

Pharmacy

Psychiatry

Public Health

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Google

Wikipedia