Skip to main content

Chinese Overseas Studies: Home

Introduction

This guide introduces Chinese Overseas Collection of the CUHK Library, Quick Search for Chinese overseas in certain region/country, and Related Sites on Chinese overseas studies for more Internet resources. For assistance, please send your questions via Live Chat or contact the relevant faculty liaison librarian.

LibrarySearch


 


 

Loading

Google Search

Loading

Chinese Overseas Collection 海外華人特藏

Fire Services Department of Manhattan Chinatown, New York City

Fire Services Department of Manhattan Chinatown, New York City

The Chinese Overseas Collection established in 2002 is located on the 3rd floor of the University Library at the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK). The Chinese Overseas Collection aims to support teaching and research at CUHK; strengthen interlibrary cooperation with related institutions all over the world; and facilitate the development of Chinese overseas studies at CUHK and beyond. The holdings are based on the Overseas Chinese Archives transferred from the Chinese Overseas Studies Centre. The Chinese Overseas Studies Centre was established in 1983 to conduct research through 2000. Its research team also collected materials on Chinese overseas, particularly Southeast Asian Chinese, and their ancestral villages in China. The Overseas Chinese Archives includes scholarly books, periodicals, reference works, pamphlets, newspaper cuttings, primary sources from Qiaoxiang 僑鄉 in China (the emigrant villages of the Chinese overseas), and publications of Chinese political parties, clan/dialect/trade group associations in Southeast Asia and North America and other regions of the world. The holdings are later incorporated with the core collection at CUHK University Library in 2002. The extensive publication dates, subjects, and data formats of the Chinese Overseas Collection reveals a rich variety of resources available to students and faculty at CUHK. The collection contains materials that ranges from the late 19th century to the present. The topics cover: business, economics, politics, society, education, ethnicity, culture, history, literature, tourism, and clan or dialect based associations of the Chinese overseas communities across time and around the world. All the materials for Chinese overseas studies can be search via Library Catalogue

To search Chinese immigrants in certain region/country, proceed to Quick Search of Lib Guide.

To read more information on Qiaoxiang in China/Taiwan and Chinese overseas organizations with their online publications, proceed to Related Sites of LibGuide.

For inquiry and new books/websites recommendation, e-mail: spc@lib.cuhk.edu.hk

Contact address
Chinese Overseas Collection, University Library, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong

Telephone
Tel: (852) 3943-1922; Fax: (852) 3942-0987

Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)

Ann Chiu's picture
Ann Chiu
Contact:
Special Collections, University Library,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
(852) 3943-8786

Need Help?

The image of the University Library