Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: References

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Use dictionaries to find the meaning of terms, and obtain background information of your subject from encyclopedias.

Baillière's nurses' dictionary : for nurses and health care workers

UL Reference W13 .B25 2014 

Churchill Livingstone's dictionary of nursing

UL Reference WY13 .C48 2006

A dictionary of nursing (Oxford)

Access via Oxford Reference Online

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary

MD W13 .D67 2020

Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing, & allied health

UL W13 .M54 2003 

The Gale encyclopedia of nursing & allied health

Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library (2013 ed)

Mosby's pocket dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions

UL Reference W13 .M673 2010 

Stedman's medical dictionary for the health professions and nursing

Access via Stedman's online

Handbooks, Manuals and Guidelines

Davis's comprehensive handbook of laboratory & diagnostic tests with nursing implications

Access via EBSCOhost Ebooks (2019)

Handbook of nursing diagnosis

Access via Books@Ovid (2017)

The Lippincott manual of nursing practice

Access via Books@Ovid (2019 11th ed.)

Mosby's diagnostic and laboratory test reference

Access via ClinicalKey for Nursing (2021 15th ed.)

Mosby's handbook of patient teaching

UL  WY49 .C36 2006

Nurses' handbook of health assessment

UL  WY49 .W324 2014

Nursing diagnosis manual: planning, individualizing, and documenting client care

Access via EBSCOhost Ebooks (2019)

Taylor's differential diagnosis manual

Access via Books@Ovid (2014 3rd ed.)

Medical Terminology

Elsevier's medical terminology for the practicing nurse

Access via EBSCOhost. eBook collection

An introduction to medical terminology for health care : a self-teaching package

Access via EBSCOhost. eBook collection

Dorland's dictionary of medical acronyms & abbreviations

Access via ClinicalKey

Medical acronyms, eponyms & abbreviations

UL Reference  W13 .D455 2002 

Stedman's Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms and Symbols.

Access via Stedman's online

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

 

 

 

 


Drug Information

Saunders nursing drug handbook

Access via ClinicalKey for Nursing (2020 ed)

Lippincott's nursing drug guide

Access via Books@Ovid (2015 ed.) 

Merck index

Access via Merck Index

Mosby's nursing drug reference

Access via Ebook Central 

Evidence Based Nursing and Nursing Research

Dictionary of evidence-based medicine

Access via EBSCOhost. eBook collection

Dictionary of nursing theory and research

Access via Ebook Central 

Encyclopedia of nursing research

Access via EBSCOhost ebook collection (2012 3rd ed.)

The Evidence-based practice manual for nurses

UL  WY100.7 .E96 2011

How to write a paper

Access via Wiley Online Library

Nursing research: methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice

Access via Ebook Central