LibGuides: Journalism and Communication: Useful Websites

Getting Data for Journalism

MOOC: News Literacy

Video: Evaluating Sources for Credibility

NCSU Libraries. (2015). Evaluating Sources for Credibility. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/PLTOVoHbH5c

Open Access Repository

DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is a global directory of Open Access repositories and their policies.
Open Knowledge Repository - the World Bank Group
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
ROAD - Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
ROAD, the Directory of Open Access scholarly Resources, provides a single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available.

Social Science related repositories

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
The world largest collection of online Economics working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters and software components.
Social Scientist Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN´s eLibrary provides 805,655 research papers from 381,151 researchers across 30 disciplines.

Useful sites

BBC Academy - Journalism

Journalism skills, safety, specialist areas, legal and ethical issues from the BBC Academy. Includes the BBC News style guide.

Hong Kong Journalists Association

The official website of the Hong Kong Journalists Association.

Hong Kong News Executives' Association

The official website of the Hong Kong News Executives' Association.

Information Services Department

The official website of the HKSAR Government Information services Department.

Journalism and Media Studies Centre

The official website of JMSC, a teaching and research unit under the Hong Kong University Senate.

LibGuides – Journalism – Northwestern University Library

The subject guides related to journalism from the Northwestern University Library

news.gov.hk

News release of the HKSAR Government.

The Newspaper Society of Hong Kong

The official website of the Newspaper Society of Hong Kong.

The Pew Research Center's

A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Social Science)

Bernice Chan

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Support, University Library,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

3943-9754