Anthropology: Useful Websites

The American Anthropological Association (AAA) is an organization of scholars and practitioners in the field of anthropology. The AAA publishes more than 20 peer-reviewed academic journals including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, Anthropology & Education Quarterly and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.

Provides information and resources for anthropology teachers, students, practioners, researchers and media.

A scholarly association based in the United States. It hosts annual conference and publishes the Journal of Asian Studies and Bibliographies of Asian Studies.

Represents the profession of Anthropology in Australia. It provides electronic papers of two categories, "AAS material" and "published material".

Quarterly journal published by National Library Board, Singapore. It provides information on history and culture of Singapore and Southeast Asia.

A multidisciplinary Korean studies association based in the U.K. It organizes workshops/conferences and publishes an online newsletter and research papers.

Transnational network of researchers from the humanities and social sciences dedicated to researching gender issues in China.

A news agency site to study contemporary China.

Samples for APA, Chicago, MLA, Vancouver and others prepared by CUHK Library.

Includes brief profiles of nations with their cultural norms around the world.

Database developed by Center for the Study of Asian Cultures, Kansai University.

Includes Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection (中國古籍庫), Daoist Texts Collection (道教經典文庫), David Hawkes Archive (霍克思資料庫), Calligraphy & Paintings (書畫).

Organizes biennual conferences and publishes a journal, Social Anthropology/Anthropologie Sociale.

Uses anthropological fieldwork approach to conduct area studies in China.

Founded in 1924 to foster interest in the history of science and its social and cultural relations.

Professional organization works in association with the Hong Kong Museum of History and with the Department of Anthropology at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Annual online journal on the culture and society of Hong Kong.

Research institute based in the Netherlands.

IUAES, a world organization of social and biological anthropological scientists and institutions. It hosts International Congresses of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences every five years.

Promotes research on human culture(s) in ethnology, cultural anthropology and social anthropology. Its society publication Japanese Review of Cultural Anthropology is integrated into the Japanese Journal of Ethnology as a supplementary issue.

An eLearning project developed by The Chinese University of Hong Kong. This platform offers educational content, resourceful information, innovative learning tools and powerful applications to facilitate lifelong learning.

Chiefly consists of materials written and collected by Professor Maurice Freedman and Dr. Judith Freedman on Southeast Asian and Jewish studies.

Provides research, exhibition and information about Japanese peoples, societies and cultures.

It consists of two invaluable oracle bones collections with 44 pieces from United College/CUHK Library and the other 27 pieces from Art Museum.

Chinese shadow figures collection in the East Asian Library and the Gest Collection of Princeton University.

(Free access from vol.5)

An editorially independent magazine of the Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research.

Bringing together Science, Technology and Humanities in Asia and the World.

US-based professional applied anthropology organization. It publishes society journal Human Organization, Practicing Anthropology, SfAA Newsletter, etc.

Anthropological studies of Taiwan, P.R.C., Hong Kong, Japan, Korea and other societies and cultures related to East Asian studies.

Library and research institute based in Tokyo dedicated to the studies of Asian history and culture.

Website of Institute of Ethnology, Academia Sinica in Taipei. It conducts academic activities and publishes Bulletin of the Institute of Ethnology which was renamed the Taiwan Journal of Anthropology in 2002.

A group blog about Chinese tech, media and design. Includes featured columns Ethnography of Tech, China Meme Report, Multi Entry, Chinese Comics Review, Starting Up in Shenzhen, Typography Design, State Capitalism Watch, and Virtual China.